JD(U) goes it alone in Assam, to contest 37 seats; RJD just one | Patna News

PATNA: Bihar’s ruling JD(U), which is contesting assembly polls in Assam without allying with any political party, has put up its candidates in 37 out of a total of 126 constituencies in the northeastern state.
Of the 37 seats, 13 were won by its Bihar ally BJP in the 2016 assembly polls. Though JD(U) and BJP are allies in Bihar, both are fighting the Assam polls separately.
Friday was the last date of filing nomination for the third and last phase of the election.
“JD(U is contesting six seats in the first phase (March 27), nine seats in the second phase (April 1), and 22 seats in the third phase (April 6),” said JD(U) national secretary and the in-charge for the northeast, Sanjay Verma, over the phone from Guwahati.
Verma also claimed that JD(U) candidates are putting up a good fight in two of the six seats in the first phase. “Our candidates– Shahnaz Begum in Dhing constituency and Anupam Baruah in Batadroba – are giving a tough fight to their rivals,” he said.
Of the 37 seats where JD(U) has fielded its candidates, 13 were won by BJP, 11 by Congress, six (AIUDF), four (Bodoland Peoples’ Front), two (Asom Gana Parishad) and one seat (Jonai) by an Independent in the last 2016 assembly polls.
Bihar’s another regional party – Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) is also contesting the Assam polls. However, RJD is contesting only from Tinsukia as an ally of the Congress-led 8-party Grand Alliance. RJD has put up Hira Devi, a Tinsukia-based businesswoman, as its candidate. Hira Devi was born and brought up in Bihar’s Bhagalpur district. She shifted to Tinsukia after her marriage in 1984.
JD(U), too, has put up its candidate from Tinsukia dominated by the Hindi speaking community. Alok Ray is JD(U) candidate in Tinsukia seat. JD(U)’s Assam state convener Samsul Alam is trying his luck from the Rupohihat seat which will go to polling in the first phase.

Source link

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: